top of page

5-Minute Clear Fruit Glaze Without Jam And Gelatin

Updated: Aug 15

To enhance the taste and appearance of your tarts, Danish pastries, cakes, or savory dishes, applying a thin layer of the glossy-sweet-tangy glaze makes a significant difference.

Skip To Recipe

What Substitutes Apple Juice and NH Pectin?

Is Pectin Vegan?

Adding a glossy glaze can be the perfect finishing touch to take your desserts, like this yummy Vanilla French Flan Tart. While traditional tart glazes often contain jam and gelatin, there's an even easier and quicker way to make a luscious glaze without these ingredients.

 fruit glaze brushed on top of financier

Glaze on freshly baked financiers

However, many traditional fruit tart glaze recipes rely on ingredients like jam and gelatin, which may not be suitable for people with strict dietary preferences. This tart glaze recipe is vegan-friendly and at the same time doesn't contain any fruit jams.

Fruit glaze ingredients

The 5 ingredients you need for the glaze.

What Substitutes Apple Juice and NH Pectin in this Tart Fruit Glaze Recipe?

The recipe uses apple juice, but you can replace it with water if the apple is not for you. It doesn't affect the result. NH pectin and fruit pectin may have different textures and consistencies. NH pectin is known to have a softer gel compared to fruit pectin, which may affect the texture and quality of the tart glaze.


Ingredients You'll Need

  • 1 liter apple juice or water

  • 650 g sugar +

  • 22 g pectin NH

  • 65 g glucose

  • 65 g lemon juice or 30 g apple cider vinegar


  1. In a bowl, mix the pectin and sugar very well. Set aside.

  2. In a saucepan, warm the remaining ingredients to around 45-50°C. The glaze boils with plenty of bubbles, so use a slightly bigger pan.

  3. Add the sugar-pectin mixture while constantly whisking to get rid of any lumps.

  4. Cook in medium-high heat for a few minutes until it boils and bubbles. Remove from heat.

  5. Transfer to a container, cover the surface with cling wrap, and cool down at room temperature before storing in the fridge.

  6. In a saucepan, heat the glaze and add a small amount of clear juice or water to loosen up before use.

  7. Brush over the dessert while the glaze is hot enough, about 35-40°C, and loose.


Is Pectin Vegan?

Yes, pectin (NH and fruit) is considered vegan. It's a natural enzyme found in the cell walls of fruits and vegetables, particularly in the peels, skins, and cores. Pectins are commonly used as a gelling agent in jams, jellies, and other food products. It doesn't contain animal products or by-products, making it suitable for a vegan diet.

fruit glaze cooked

Cooked clear tart glaze.

Making a clear glaze without jam or gelatin is easier than you might think. With just a few simple ingredients and straightforward steps, you can make a glossy, smooth, and versatile glaze to enhance the presentation and taste of your pastry creations.

Glaze also helps prevent dessert from drying out when served in open spaces like a buffet table or open cake display cases.

fruit glaze on tarts

Apricot tart with fruit tart glaze

We hear you! Regardless of your diet, this tart glaze recipe is for everyone. It can be used for regular, vegan, dairy-free, and gluten-free desserts.

So be creative, head to the kitchen, try this quick and easy glaze on your favorite sweets, and say goodbye to dry-looking desserts!

*Please Read our Affiliate Disclosure here.

116 views0 comments
bottom of page